Holiday Weekend

The three day weekend for me means: cleaning (my sinks have never shone so bright!), sleeping (lovely, lovely sleeping in my newly air conditioned bedroom) and reading (catch up time!)

Yesterday, I read Meet Me In St. Louis for the first time. Everyone knows the movie, I’m sure – Judy Garland, Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas, Trolley Song, etc. I just found out it was based on a book written in 1941, and checked it out. Overall, fun, but not as charming and wonderful as the movie.

But what really stuck with me was the fashions. Despite being written in 1941 and set in 1903/4, it’s the story of teenage girls and they haven’t changed much. In the span of 100+ years, they still buy manicure kits, obsess over boys and freak out about not having the proper thing to wear. In 1903 (and 1941), sailor style dresses were very much in vogue. We seem to be in a bit of a renaissance of that style right now, too; mostly in terms of stripes but I also see jaunty little ties everywhere. And damn it, I want in on it.

I want the vintage look.

I want the modern vintage look.

I want the modern look.

I want the Is-this-really-possible-to-wear unironically look.

I want to look like Carney, damn it. I have for years.

ETA: And I want to look like Princess Catherine! An Alexander McQueen sailor dress, I am in love.

But I have more sense than that. *g* With limited librarian funds, I need to only buy things I can wear for several years. And things that don’t make me look like I’m playing dress-up.
But I am going shopping this week, with plans to hit H&M and Anthro, so I expect I will come back with at least one striped item so I can pretend to be playing along with this trend that I’ve been hoping would come back. Or, perhaps, an item with a jaunty tie…

One thought on “Holiday Weekend

  1. while i can appreciate the idea of sailor inspired clothes, I’ve never quite been able to pull anything like this off. I think with your retro flare, you may be able to. šŸ™‚ I particularly like the pin-up girl-esque pic above, and I’m thinking white and blue striped dress with red pumps? divine. Did you find anything on your shopping trip?

    Like

What do you think?

