5 August 2011: Posh Frock Friday

Less than six hours of my Library’s summer reading program left – I might finish this damn summer off without an ulcer! Whoo!
So, stress=favorite dress of all time.

Coldwater Creek shirtwaist dress, Sketcher sandals

 

There isn’t anything I don’t love about this dress. I love the cut, the print, the belt, the buttons, the inches of nonbuttons at the bottom that show off a great amount of leg when I cross them, the twirliness, the 1940s retro vibe, etc. It’s beautiful and thanks to the self-tie belt, it will always fit me perfectly. I love you, dress. Can I clone you? ❤

4 thoughts on “5 August 2011: Posh Frock Friday

  1. your “Can I clone you?” comment made me smile – sure, why not? I bet it would be reproducible with a sewing machine and some other fabulous fabric. I am *SO* going to learn to sew someday (ok, I know a little, but I don’t have a machine, I used family machines and took several summers of sewing classes through community ed!)

    Specific comment – I love the size of the pattern on here. Not too big to be overwhelming but a nice size to give a POW! And perfect with those shoes 🙂

    Like

  2. I keep saying that, too! I even leave my sewing machine out in my living room to inspire me. I’m scared to try making an outfit, but I am thinking about taking an old skirt and practicing taking it in, since so many of my favorite skirts are just too big now. It’d be nice to be able to wear them without pinning. I just have to gather my courage. *g*

    The pattern really is lovely. It’s the perfect shade to blend in, but stand out all at once. I don’t typically love prints, but this one just feels so right.

    Like

  3. you should check out Mena of Six Apart’s latest venture, Sew Weekly, or at least sign up for the newsletter to inspire you when you are ready… http://www.sewweekly.com/ Her newest post, coincidently, is about taking a dress and using it as a pattern LOL! I’ve seen her talk about making a version of a pattern out of basic fabric, I can’t remember what she calls it tho; basically like a trial version and then you can get the sizings right and make any adjustments. Wish I could remember what it was called to point you to a specific post, but my brain went blank. 😀

    Like

  4. Oh, wow. I love her dresses…I would love to be able to make things like that. I will definitely be trolling her archives! There’s another sewer blog I follow, but the link is at home. Her name is Casey, and she makes such cute vintagey dresses.

    Okay. My goal this winter is to make at least one skirt that is wearable. By me. If that’s successful, I’ll work up to a dress this spring. (When it will need less and lighter fabric. ;))

    Like

What do you think?

