7, 8, 11 January 2012: New York City

My intentions of mobile posting flew out the window due to 1. bad lighting and 2. exhaustion. I didn’t catch even half decent shots of most of my outfits, but here are some highlights.

Eddie Bauer sweater, Old Navy skirt, Merona fleece lined tights, Juicy Couture choker, converse

60 degrees. 60! My coat was open the whole day. The shoes were ridiculously comfortable, which is good, as we walked all over midtown Manhattan. Highlights: Times Square, NYPL, Bryant Park, Central Park, Rockefeller Center with the tree still up.

Gap sweater, Old Navy skirt, fleece tights, Bass necklace, boots

Not 60 degrees, not comfortable shoes! These boots looked better than the sneakers, but owwwwwwww. I couldn’t wear them again for the rest of the trip. Highlights: 40 blocks through Central Park, posing on Hans Christian Anderson’s lap, 3 hour scavenger hunt through the Met, Ellen’s Stardust Diner.

JCrew Jackie cardigan, JCrew white tissue tee, JCrew pleated skirt, fleece lined tights, converse, vintage enamel flower pin, Doctor Who beaded bracelet, Eddie Bauer parka, handknit hat and scarf (both by me!), Darren Criss

The shoes really changed the tenor of the outfit, but it was necessary. I explored all on my own, never getting lost once, hurrah! Highlights: breakfast at Tiffany’s, New York style pizza, How to Succeed in Business Without Really Trying, Times Square at Night.

The other days, I hung out in Connecticut with my friend – I rested and we hit up some small town indie bookstores and antique stores (see: vintage brooch). It was a fantastic trip, and I fell so unexpectedly hard for the City. I can see this being an annual trip, even if it’s just a long weekend. I definitely want to explore the Met more (Costume Institute!), plus see more shows (DCriss was surprisingly good, especially in comic timing and dancing, but I want moooooooooore), hit up Ellis Island and just explore. Good times, friends, good times.

What do you think?

