Snow Manicure!

Well, that’s what I tell myself, anyway! I’ve seen a lot of pinterest pics with glitter tips and glitter bases, and somehow, I only own one glitter. So I picked up two at Walgreens this week – a chunky red/green/gold from Wet ‘n’ Wild, and a silver/blue from Sinful – silver base with blue flecks. I am a sucker for silver and blue all winter long.

So the manicures all seemed to be about a concentration of glitter at top or bottom, fading to no glitter and basecoat only, like this. Sounded easy enough, I thought! I chose OPI’s Slushied from the Glee line as my base and topped it with Sinful’s Ice Dreams.

For a cheap Sinful polish, it is LOADED with glitter. That’s one coat of glitter. There was no fading this, it was glitter or no. So, not exactly what I thought it’d be, but I love it. It makes me think of snow against a bright December sky, and that makes me a very happy camper.

I’ve also tried doing gradient manicures, painting stripes onto a make up blending wedge and stamping it on – I need to work on finding better colors to blend, and stamping precision, but it’s a fun technique. I ended up having to restamp with all one color, and the resulting texture was cool. I’ll give it a try again soon, see if I can get better shots.

2 thoughts on “Snow Manicure!

  1. That is so stinking cute! Applying glitter in a gradiant isn’t nearly as easy as it looks. Especially applying with your non-dominant hand!
    The OPI Slushied looks to be a dupe for Julep’s Donna. Or visa versa. Either way, it’s such a pretty creamy turquoise!
    For drugstore polish, Sinful has been doing a great job with glitter polishes lately in that you get a pretty even coat with each brush stroke.
    I tend to favor indie/franken polish makers when it comes to getting my glitter fixation. Love me some Etsy!

    Like

    • So true! Pinterest suggested painting the glitter onto a makeup wedge and stamping it, and I’m going to try that next time, too, i think. Although I kind of love the uneveness this produced.

      Rec me some etsy polish? I so rarely branch out from drugstore, opi or china glaze!

      Like

What do you think?

