31 August, 3, 4 and 5 September 2013: Autumn! For Real!

Mostly for real. Tuesday was super cool, high 72, and the perfect day to celebrate my first pumpkin spice latte of the season. Wednesday, sort of warm, 85*, though I didn’t let that stop me from dressing autumnally.

2013-08-31_11175

Anthropologie Here and There tee, Maurice’s polka dot skirt, NYC and Company necklace, White Cliff Flats

Dipping into autumn with a deep green and purple combo!

2013-09-03_11180

Anthropologie ruched top, Old Navy flirt capris, Forever 21 necklace, White Cliff flats

Help.

1. I don’t remember the name of this top and I don’t wear it often it enough for searching to be useful.

2. Does this shirt flatter me? Honestly. I don’t often wear it because I feel it makes me look very pear shaped and I’m not sure the ruching does me favors. But it’s also the only thing my notoriously cold ex-director ever complimented on me, so there’s that.

I actually had on a very different style originally – it was tucked into my tan button up JCrew skirt and looked freaking ADORABLE. And then I realized it was 59* outside. And because it’s been so long since spring, while I did try leggings (nope), I never once considered TIGHTS. I could have saved it! But I reached for pants instead.

Also, I wore pumpkin for my pumpkin spice latte. It was a delight.

2013-09-03 15.44.04

2013-09-04_11182

Caroline tee, Forever 21 skirt, H&M cardigan, Juicy Couture choker, BoC Canty booties

Yeah, it was 85*. Whatever. It’s also September. My legs were bare, it’s all good.

2013-09-05_11191

Merona ruffle tank top, Old Navy Flirt capris, Gap boyfriend sweater, chunky necklace, Biviel t-strap heels

Inspired by this pin, I wanted something easy and cute and a little stylish to kick off New York fashion week!

Also, by request, for Jane: A close up of the bib necklace I wore last week:

2013-09-04_11186

Also, I added a shot of all 20 thumbnails from my pinup photo shoot to the original post. I love love love the last one – damn my lack of balance!!

4 thoughts on “31 August, 3, 4 and 5 September 2013: Autumn! For Real!

  1. Oh wow! The bib necklace is gorgeous! Love the autumn tone to it! Really really pretty! (….Adds autumn-y bib necklace to my shopping wish list).
    The Anthro ruched top. It’s challenging. There’s a whole lot going at once & all of it is fighting to be seen first. It’s not doing you any favors but then again it’s not not doing you any favors. If in doubt, nix it. There’s a whole host of more flattering options to be had!

    Like

    • isn’t it lovely? And it was super cheap, too, at Maurice’s.

      It’s so weird, but I have the hardest time giving up anthropologie pieces!! I should, because anything I doubt and avoid this much has no place in my closet, but it’s anthrooooooooooo. That store really is sort of cult like. LOL

      Like

  2. I like the ruched top. I do wonder if it is just a TOUCH too big for you and maybe that’s why it’s hanging in a way you aren’t as pleased with. (maybe it would fit me, LOL!) I like the lace/texture, I like the color on you, and it’s a cool idea. With a pencil skirt maybe?

    The green + polka dots outfit is also adorable! 🙂

    Like

    • That could be! I am notoriously bad at determining if something is big or not. This is why you need to come visit me – so you can try this on and see if it works for you!! If it did, it would be yours. *g* Meanwhile, that’s a good idea – I’ll try it with a pencil skirt and see how it goes!

      Like

What do you think?

