17, 18, 19 October 2013: Feeling Good

It is very firmly sweater and tights weather. Today’s high won’t get out of the 40s.  At least one local meteorologist thinks it’s possible we’ll have our first freeze tonight or tomorrow. And perhaps, there will be light snowfall (which can’t stick because the ground is too warm, but whatever). Happy happy joy joy!

2013-10-17_11624

JCrew Factory dress, Old Navy cardigan, Old Navy tights, Liz Claibourne boots

Purple for Spirit Day. Chris Colfer once said he was wearing so much purple on that year’s Spirit Day that he looked like a battered Barney. I think we can all shoot for that in support.

2013-10-18_11631

anthropologie Odille plaid shirt, Old Navy Sweetheart Skinnies, Converse

One of Modcloth’s current mini-collections is Alpine Chic. The fact that Alpine Chic is a thing delights me beyond words. I wore Heidi braids in celebration. (Also,  I want so much from that collection. Like, most of the shoes, the Keen on Color skirt, The Habor of Love in Cabin dress, etc.)

2013-10-19_11636

Cashmere sweater, JCrew pleated skirt, tights, Forever 21 chain, anthropologie jeweled hairband, Bass Heritage boots

Looking fancy for a Saturday work day and my very first Parent Workshop. Which was a SUCCESS!!!! I was so, so happy. We haven’t done parent programming in at least 6 years because no one would sign up or come. I am happy to report that this was a very niche topic and 7 people came. That’s a definite success. Next month’s will be a more mainstream topic and I anticipate a much larger crowd, but this was the perfect way to start things off.

I worked yesterday, too, and so have today off as well. It’s been fairly productive – I have sloppy joes cooking in the slow cooker, I ironed my new dresses and I tested out my first pickling recipe, courtesy Pinterest:

PickledVeggies

Radishes and carrots, being used in a modified bahn mi sandwich. Super yum. I think next time there needs to be a dash more sugar, or a bit less rice vinegar, but it tasted great on the sandwich.

I also de-manicured myself, which is sad. My mom and I went last Saturday, and I got OPI’s I Knead Sour-Dough, one of their fall San Francisco colors. I LOVED it. It was a dark red that was brown and purple in other lights. I need a nice rich brown shade, I don’t have any. My mom got OPI’s Cosmo-Not Tonight Honey, which I also loved beyond all reason – a lovely rosie champagne. I can’t find the shot we took together, but here’s mine:

2013-10-12 11.24.31-2

So nice, right? It chipped more easily than I’d have liked, but the color can’t be beat.

What do you think?

