17 January 2014: Retro Adorbs

Yesterday was a stressful day! We hosted our director for a discussion close to his heart and I led our department’s annual Mock Newbery debate. One went better than the other. (Alas, not the impressing the director part. Unless he was impressed with my stellar leader skills during the debate, since he stayed 15 minutes or so to watch us go. He’d thought we were sweet little children’s librarians, and was pretty surprised to see that we were snarky and cynical and opinionated instead. Ha.) Knowing that it would be stressful, I went for my comfort vibe – retro.

20140117-195011.jpg

anthropologie Novelty Collar tee, Sweetheart Skinny jeans, JCrew Jackie cardigan, vintage circle pin, Bass saddle shoes

Is Stacy still around? I thought of you when I picked out the shoes. It’s been ages since I wore either of my saddle pairs!

Anyway, the stress of the meetings coupled with my stress waiting for next week to come means that my boss let me leave early to finish getting things ready. I dropped things off at the consignment store (they only took 4 of my11 items! I usually do much better than that! SIGH) and went to re-try on the coat and scarf I’d found yesterday, this time with the skirt I plan to wear Tuesday. I ended up getting the coat (heavy wool), grey sparkle scarf  and wool hat for $25. I look very adorably retro. And then I grabbed a  lovely yellow-green cropped cardigan with tons of beading and jewels for $10 because I had a $10 off coupon and it was like getting it for free.

20140117-195032.jpg

So, I finally have a fancy coat. And it fits, unlike most of my others. I hope I’m warm enough – temps are supposed to be between 25 and 35, but my puffy down jacket didn’t seem appropriate. I’ll wear long underwear, double socks and hope for the best.

Meanwhile, my adventure begins Monday. It is possible I will post before the end of said adventure or it is possible I will post again in a week. Could go either way. But please, wish me luck!!

One thought on “17 January 2014: Retro Adorbs

What do you think?

