Julep!

Julep has long been sending me emails about the Maven boxes. I love the idea, but that’s a lot of nail polis being sent to me. I was intrigued by their chemical-less formulas, but $14 for a tiny bottle made me cringe.

Then came their post-Christmas sale! Tiny bottles for $2, $3 or $4? Bring it on!!!

I’ve been looking for a sheer-ish champagne color since the Lizzie Bennet Diaries last spring. Enter Ellie and Lois.

20140124-142751.jpg

Lois is the browner shade on my fourth nail, Ellie is on the others. They are very similar in color. Lois only took two coats and has lasted a week with no chipping and a tiny bit of wear. Ellie took three or four and has major chipping on my right hand and a tiny bit on my left hand. I didn’t use top coat, though.

I wanted a bit of sheen and shine that wouldn’t show chipping for my adventure this week, and this was exactly what I needed. I do love them both – I think Ellie especially looks best with short nails, which I don’t often have, but I plan to use it anyway. I think it’ll go better with touch ups (I didn’t bring the polish with me) and top coats along the way.

Now, would I pay $14 for these? Unsure. I’ll let you know after I’ve tested the amazing copper penny color I also bought, to test out pigmentation.

2 thoughts on “Julep!

  1. I subbed to the monthly Julep box thing for a few months, but ended up ditching at as the polishes were just ok. For a lot less, I could get a lot better brand of polish in a larger bottle AND a bottle that doesn’t fall over as easily. Mark my words – you’ll cry a zillion tears after cussing like a drunken sailor when one of those Julep bottles tips over. Argh! But yep, for 2-4 bucks a bottle, it’s a good deal!

    Like

    • Ha! That is very good to know – I’ve been making sure to have paper towels down no matter what when I touch up. I have found the brozne, Dakota, to be excellent quality – long lasting, chip resistant, streak free and solid in one coat. But based on the other colors I got, quality is a mixed bag. I love the idea of a subscription box, though. I’m considering birchbox or something like it. If I can get myself to spend the money on it, heh.

      Like

What do you think?

