5 and 6 March 2014: Yep. still winter

It snowed for 12 hours yesterday. We are ten inches away from the snowiest winter on record – I think we’re in fourth now. Tomorrow we might see 45, though! And then more snow forecast next week. Of course.

20140306-105052.jpg

Merona polka dot tank top, JCrew Jackie cardigan, Talbot’s skirt, vintage brooch, Charlotte Russe hairband, White Cliff flats

Yep, still on my retro kick. Even musically – I’ve mostly been listening to 50s and early 60s standards. It’s fun. Latest favorite is Vic Damone, who I had somehow never known before.

I was despairing with this top, though. A sweater clip didn’t look right over the ruffles, and buttoning anyway did odd things to my shape. So, I pinned the cardigan in place – the brooch attaches it to the tank, and then there’s a safety pin doing the same on the other side. Kept it just where I wanted, easy peasy. I need to remember to do that again.

Also, check the hair:

20140306-105100.jpg

I’d seen this on Pinterest about a year ago, as a way to curl your hair without heat. I tried it immediately, but my hair wasn’t log enough then. But then my mother sent a version to me where you just kept your hair like this, I tried again, and it’s long enough! Yay! I wore it like this overnight to curl, but it didn’t work – my hair was still wet when I woke up and it was limp. So  I rolled and tucked it back up and wore it Downton Abbey style. I loved it! Super fun, and I got compliments.

Then before I bed, I took it out and voila:

20140306-105111.jpg

Curls! Based on the size of the chunks of hair I grabbed and rolled, which is good to know. I’ll try this again at some point, probably started the wrapping/curls up higher and in more uniform pieces. But the curls lasted all night even as I slept, which is impressive.

20140306-105147.jpg

JCrew button back top, Old navy sweetheart skinny jeans, Modcloth Airport Greeting cardigan, boots

Crap, must remember to go grab a necklace. I had this with a skirt originally, but the cardigan looked like a blazer! I looked like an office worker! Even with it half zipped! That is never my goal. It’s better with jeans, but I will have to experiment with other skirts and bottoms and see what works.

I’ve been eyeing this vintage 50s dress for a week or two now. Thoughts?

2 thoughts on “5 and 6 March 2014: Yep. still winter

  1. Your hair in the roll & post-roll curls both look amazing! Well done!
    LOL, the stuff I tend to try from Pinterest are usually things that end up making my butt bigger – like dessert.
    Congrats on the near-record snow fall too! Teehee

    Like

    • I’m so excited about the roll and curls – can’t wait to try it again, more purposefully. I’ve tried a wide range of Pinterest things (and even have a board with those pins), and I’ve had some pretty good successes. My lasagna cupcakes are pretty fun.

      I think we’re poised to hit 3rd place tonight – we’re only 2.5 inches away, and they are forecasting anywhere between 2 and 10. LOL

      Like

What do you think?

