9 and 10 June 2014: Summer Reading Madness

Summer Reading launched on Monday! It’s been a slower start because we started before the kids were out of school (I wanted to nail down a start day and their last day kept getting pushed back by snow) but once school ended today, we were slammed. Four people on desk answering nonstop questions and doing sign-ups simultaneously. It was almost as busy last night after our kick-off program – I ended up staying an hour late to help out. I am so, so exhausted – but it really is fun.

And hey, the tshirt isn’t half as bad as others have been! Good art and a non-offensive color. Yay.

20140610-220550.jpg

Fizz Boom Read SRP shirt, Old Navy Flirt capris, VL hairwrap, White Cliff flats

Do the pants look weird rolled like this? I thought it seemed sort of retro and fun, but does it? At least they fall on a more flattering part of my leg?

Also, it may be summer reading, but it’s been 60 and rainy the last two days. I do NOT want a summer like this. When the kids can’t swim, they spend all day at the library being fussy. No fun.

20140610-220600.jpg

Loft Sunkissed tee, Limited skirt, JCrew Jackie cardigan, vintage heart pin, sandals

I feel like this shirt requires hot weather and it wasn’t today. But I didn’t want to try and find something else that worked, ha.

 

20140610-220609.jpg

I was organizing a closet this weekend and found this hair cage! I got it at the renaissance fair a few summers back – and promptly chopped off my hair, ha. Now I can do it again. Lots of different styles, can’t wait to play.

Then, sigh.

20140610-220618.jpg

My sad, sad face after I walked down to get a falafel pita for lunch and as I was adding some Jerusalem salad, it fell on the tray – and my clothes. And then I walked back and it rained on me! COME ON.  And then I stopped at a local Mexican place for dinner because they were donating 20% of the meal to a local disability foundation and walked home in more rain. And my umbrella came back from a friend broken, which, that was a surprise! But when my Krissy is visiting next week, I can stop by the Art Institute and pick up a new one I’ve had my eye on the last two visits. So, you know. I guess it worked out.

3 thoughts on “9 and 10 June 2014: Summer Reading Madness

  1. I like the rolled up pants! I have a pair of Old Navy jeans that I roll up too because I don’t like how traditional capris look on me.

    Also, I don’t miss the SRP shirt days! My favorite was the pirate year…our shirts rocked that year!

    Like

    • Ha, I missed the pirates! That does sound like a fun year. I think this year might be my favorite – there are two, and I love Dan Santat’s art and the other is more YA based, so it’s cooler. I’ll wear it soon.

      Like

  2. Good-looking, smart girl in terrific outfits. You look soooo cute and cool … keep up your good taste for clothing!!!

    PS: your rolled jeans fit perfect with your shoes and make you cool; you might try them also with sandals like those black in the pic below

    Like

What do you think?

