22, 23, 24 July 2014: Hot and Cold

This summer remains crazy and busy. I am feeling super creative – I’m getting ready to start planning Christmas gifts, I’m researching and plotting out a story, I’m making a ton of graphics. It’s all really really fun, and doesn’t leave much time for blogging. Part of it is because I am rather sick of my summer clothes and can’t wait for autumn to come back. Which is silly! I love my summer clothes! But I’m not feeling as inspired as I have, and I’m not sure why. I haven’t been shopping much, which is good for my bank account, but bad for my inspiration, i think.

20140724-115858.jpg

 

American Eagle sundress, necklace, Modcloth sandals

A rare hot day! A muggy and awful mid-90s. I love this dress and haven’t felt the pull of it all summer, until now. Crazy!

20140724-115909.jpg

 

anthropologie fluttered hem tee, Old Navy Flirt capris, antique key necklace, Aerosole wedges

I actually adore how this came out. I felt so cute. (PS, not a hot day! It dropped to the 60s. I can dig it.)

20140724-115918.jpg

 

Loft cardigan, thrifted houndstooth skirt, illusion necklace, Dansko sandals

I was frantically trying on clothes this morning for a Monday afternoon appointment and tried this cardigan with another skirt. It wasn’t what I wanted it to look like, but I felt like wearing it, and this seemed like a great skirt for it. I was going to go for pink feather in the hair, but the red called to me. I was leaving for an appointment when I remembered reading the Sleepover Friends series as a kid- Stephanie always wore black, red and white, every day, because she was soooooo sophisticated. I sort of wonder if I subconsciously had that in mind when I picked the shoes, hee.

I started Nia this week – it’s like modern dance + stretching + martial arts + meditation. I was the youngest by several decades. I felt a little silly, but I felt like I’d really worked my leg muscles (lots of balancing and hopping) and it didn’t trigger my asthma and it was actually pretty relaxing and I left feeling energized and less anxious. I also got a lot of ideas for stretchers for my sensory storytimes, ha. So it’s good, I just wish that there were younger people in it too, so I felt a little less Sit and Be Fit. I may also need to bring back in a Zumba class once a week, or join the super cheap gym a mile away to balance it a bit.

What do you think?

