29 and 30 July 2014: Fandom Fun

Fun with fashion!

20140730-202133.jpg

Disney Mickey and Minnie top, Old Navy Flirt skirt, Keds Champions

Where did my text go??? Grrrrr. I forget what I said about all this, ha. Um, I like this top and don’t pull it out half as much as my other Disney ones, and I’m not sure why. Also, this skirt is so boring with it. I should have gone for a bright complement, like the coral, or a swishy circle skirt for balance.

20140730-202146.jpg

Hot Topic Her Universe Villains dress, Forever 21 leggings, ANA cardigan, Forever 21 Love necklace, Charlotte Russe hairband, Keds Champions

Only one person at work saw what the pattern was – she was so delighted, she got up to give me a big hug!! It was so funny. Another checked it out just because she usually likes my dresses, and then was surprised. Everyone else, I had to walk up to them and say, “LOOK AT MY ADORABLE DRESS!!!!” Because, yes!

20140730-202155.jpg

Doctor Who! Tardises, Weeping Angels, Cybermen and Daleks. What is not to love? It’s also ridiculously soft, stretchy and comfortable. Hot Topic had a great sale so I went for it. I’m noodling with the idea of Tardis, Tenth Doctor or Eleventh Doctor dresses, but those are pretty out there. I tend to like subtle fandom touches…

And now for project 365!

20140730-214744.jpg

20/I finally made it to a concert in the park! I settled in to listen to jazz and swing and read The Secret Diary of Lizzie Bennet.

21/Books read over the weekend. Finally read the Divergent trilogy – not what I expected. Mostly fun, though not particularly well written. I’m looking forward to the movie, though.

22/Major spider webs are being spun! Early winter, I wonder?

23/Fairy-like window outside my new exercise class.

24/Seasonal murals going up. I love that snowman!

25/ Kids decorated our department, for reasons I can’t quite explain. But this Dalek looked quite patriotic.

26/Monster slide at the Taste of Wisconsin.

More weekend fun:

20140730-202213.jpg

1/Red velvet funnel cake and fried Oreos. YOU GUYS. This was the best funnel cake in the world!! It was so light and airy and crispy and perfect. YUM.

2/Sunset by the lake.

3/Ding Ding Ding went the trolley

4/BINGO BABY

5/Me and my Bing. ❤

4 thoughts on “29 and 30 July 2014: Fandom Fun

  1. Red velvet funnel cakes are the exact reason I drive up to the state fair every October! Well, it used to be just regular funnel cakes, but 2 or so years ago they came out with the red velvet versions. Yeesus! So darn good!
    When I lived in DFW, TX. one of my fav things to do was hit up the state fair & try out all the funky fried things. I’ve yet to try the fried beer, but it’s on my list! Just hearing the words “deep fried” makes me swoon!
    Totally digging the Dr. Who skirt – that’s awesome!
    Couldn’t help but notice Bingo is getting bigger – lab puppies grow like weeds!

    Like

    • I couldn’t believe it! I’d never seen one before – I don’t normally make it to fairs, so I only get funnel cakes at Disney World, basically. And I always go topped with strawberries. but this was so amazing. Definitely going back next year.

      I once had a deep fried snickers bar at our local historical village Halloween party – the melted chocolate was omg amazing. But since I avoid crowds, I usually miss out on deep fried goodness. I’m intrigued by deep fried pickles and totally perplexed by deep fried beer, ha. If you get one, I want a picture!

      It’s a whole dress! Isn’t it amazing? It makes me smile, I can’t wait to wear it to the 12th Doctor premiere in theaters and Disney World. Also, I realize my text has gone poof. That’s so weird! I swear it was there yesterday!!!

      And YES, Bingo is getting so much bigger!!! It blows my mind every time I go home and see. He’s got such long, gangly legs now, it’s so funny watching him trip over them. Can’t wait to see him grow into them.

      Like

  2. Awww deep-fried pickles! Food crack! If you make these – make sure you make chips and not spears. The spears end up kinda mushy weird. The chips however are insanely delish! Serve with a spciy cajun dip. Salty, crispy, yet tangy. Omg good!
    My husband & I typically eat very well – very low carb (proteins, veggies, fresh stuff, not much of any pre-packaged or boxed stuff) and we limit our non-low carb eating days to super special holidays/occasions.
    But……about every 5 or 6 months we deliberately lose our ever-loving minds and go on a 2 day bender, which results in one helluva messy kitchen from the deep-fried free-for-all. Fried pickles, fried okra, fried pork chops, fried sweet taters, twice-fried taters, fried oreos, fried popcorn shrimp, etc. We usually do this on a 3-day weekend thing as it takes me a whole day to clean to kitchen post-fried apocalyse. Also, beer may or may not be involved. No one has proof.

    Like

    • I never would have thought chips over spears! That’s so interesting. I really need to track some down – I don’t think I’m brave enough to try my own. I love the idea of a deep fried bender, though. That sounds super fun – and super delicious.

      Like

What do you think?

