Retail therapy dressing room

This week sucks. So I went and tried on pretty clothes on my dinner break.

20140807-224615.jpg

I’m tempted by this one. It’s fitted enough that I’m not sure what I could wear under it…sleeveless and tanks, mostly. But it’s sparkly and flouncy. But I won’t buy it until I have an outfit or two in mind, and I can’t think of one yet. Ideas?

20140807-224732.jpg
This I mostly tried on because it was Trina Turk. I love the color, but it’s too long to be useful for me.

20140807-224820.jpg
I default to green tops. I love green, and I love this sweater. I think it’s too long and too fitted at the hips, though. Doesn’t balance me well, and limits bottoms. But what a gorgeous Kelly green!

20140807-224929.jpg

20140807-224936.jpg
This was quite cheap BCBGeneration. I loved it, it fit perfectly, but ugh, even a strapless bra would show. Whyyyyyyyyy? Not fair.

20140807-225031.jpg
Oh, my God, I fell in love with this dress. It’s so perfect and beautiful and retro and fitted. And there’s no way I could wear it to work and where else do I go? Heartbreak. But at least I’ll always have the picture.

20140807-225139.jpg
Same with this dress. Less cleavagey, but still not for work. I am absolutely crazy for this pattern and color, though. And the skirt!! It’s perfect. except for how it doesn’t match my life. Sigh. At least it was a little snug when I sat down. I’ll keep telling myself that.

Oh, you guys. This was in the dress section, and I like Betsey Johnson and it was cheap, so I tried it on for funsies.

20140807-225337.jpg
Yeah. Not a dress. I realized that when I pulled it off the hanger and cracked up. But hey! It did fit perfectly, even being so form fitting!! Oh, God, I can’t believe I was wearing a….jumpsuit? Romper? I don’t even quite know what to call it.

20140807-225507.jpg
This is what I bought, and I love it. It’s not off center on the hanger, so I assume I’ll put it on better next time, ha. But it’s a good length and I love the collar, and it should go with just about every bottom I have. Yay!

4 thoughts on “Retail therapy dressing room

  1. J.Crew has a Jackie cardigan in neon rose that looks a lot like the color of the TrinaTurk cardi, but a lot shorter.
    Oh dear lord – the Betsey Johnson onesie. Props for her enthusiasm & unabashed kookiness, but I can’t recall a single thing she’s made that looks functional or wearable. Maybe that’s her schick.
    Love love love the jeweled collar top – looks like it was made with your esthetics in mind!

    Like

    • OOOH. I will definitely check that out, thanks. You know my love for the Jackie.
      I one had a lovely gingham dress, that I used in the pinup shoot, but she does mostly go crazy. It’s fun, if not functional!
      I am so excited about the jeweled collar top – it’s going to be so perfect.

      Like

  2. Oh my Shelley, I’ve never seen a librarian in a jump-suit before. Love what you chose though, conservative but stylish. And you must have very long lunch breaks to try out all those clothes lol. Shaun from England.

    Like

What do you think?

