29 November and 1 December 2014: Scotty Dog!!

My hair has officially gotten so long that even patrons are commenting on its length. I think it needs to go. Maybe chin length? We’ll see when I can get in.

20141201-193730.jpg

Beaded collar sweater, Old Navy Flirt skirt, sweater tights, Bass by Rachel Antonoff saddle shoes

I think I finally broke these shoes in!! I even took a lunch walk with no discomfort. Sweet.

Also, my mother saw me in this (minus the shoes, even!) and bemoaned that she ever asked to see what I was wearing. I think it was the tights.

20141201-193740.jpg

anthropologie Here and There tee in Scotty, Ruche plaid skirt, Victoria Secret leggings, Alex and Ani bangles, Crown Vintage booties

SCOTTY DOG! Isn’t it adorable? See, it wraps around:

20141201-193745.jpg

TWIRL. I love it so. Can’t wait to wear it this summer when I’m not covering it up with a sweater half the day.

I was home for Thanksgiving and my brother’s birthday last week. Check my Bingo Baby with his new buddy the dinosaur:

20141201-193803.jpg

Isn’t he adorable? So snuggly.

Saturday, I led a program highlight the best books to give kids this holiday season. I set out dozens of books, put out punch, and booktalked for two hours. A few highlights for you:
The Streak by Barb Rosenstock (picture book of Joe DiMaggio’s record breaking home run season, summer 1941)

Jim Curious by Matthias Picard (wordless picture book done in 3D. The art is mindblowing.)

The Princess in Black by Shannon Hale (early chapter book about a princess who sneaks out in disguise to save her kingdom as needed)

El Deafo by Cece Bell (graphic novel memoir about growing up deaf in the 70s – hands down, the best book about kids with disabilities I’ve ever read (and I’m very picky). And it stars rabbits. A must read for all ages, even adults)

Brown Girl Dreaming by Jacqueline Woodson (memoir in verse about growing up in South Carolina and NYC in the 60s and 70s. Almost certain to win the Newbery this year, it’s gorgeous.)

Greenglass House by Kate Milford (Kid’s First Agatha Christie – conmen and women snowed in at a hotel over Christmas, plenty of secrets abound.)

Unspoken trilogy by Sarah Rees Brennan (brilliant magical fantasy set in a sleepy English town with a kickass heroine and a ton of humor, both dark and laugh out loud.)

7 thoughts on “29 November and 1 December 2014: Scotty Dog!!

  1. Oh gosh the scotty dog tee is adorable! Great find! You’ve really had a good run lately with eBay & Anthro finds. That’s always fun!
    Bongo is getting some big boy paws on him! He’ll take over the whole couch before long!

    Like

    • Hee, thanks!! And now that I’ve made my appointment, I cannot wait to get it cut off. LOL I’ve been pinning ideas, but I think chin length bob will do nicely. I sort of considered a pixie, but I don’t feel like maintaining it right now. *g*

      Like

What do you think?

