15 and 18 May 2015: Birthday Fun

This weekend was my birthday fun! And, um,this post does not highlight excellent outfits. Well, they can’t all be winners.

20150518-211656.jpg

Grey lace top, Old Navy Flirt skirt, Keds

I love this top. But it’s so loose that I need to create a shape to wear it to work – weekend wear is fine. I’m down on belts currently, so I tried a half tuck (because the back has a lace panel) and it eh, sort of worked. This may just be a working on the weekend/going out on the weekend top. I love wearing it.

20150518-211702.jpg

Anthropologie top, JCrew button skirt, hair scarf, Mickey necklace, key necklace, Aerosole wedges

Yeah. I don’t know. This one got away from me, probably needed to get edited. I’m getting my haircut on Saturday, so I wanted to get one pair of pigtails in before it was too late again.

I spent time on Sunday cleaning and throwing things away, and pulled out a Disney bag on my bookshelf. I’d thought it was maps from a few trips back, but NO. It held two necklaces! One of which I’d remembered wanting, and thought hard about buying, and looked for at Disneyland, to no avail.

Yeah.

20150518-211723.jpg

 

Hey, Mickey, you’re so fine.

And I’m so cluttered. LOL

So this weekend, I took myself to the city for some belated birthday fun. I stopped at my friend’s boyfriend’s comic book store and picked up the third Hawkeye trade – I had others in mind, but it was the only one on my list they had. I also stopped for my favorite macaron and a free birthday tea at Argo – the Teana Colada was ABSOLUTELY AMAZING OMG. Man, I wish my town had a shop.

20150518-211708.jpg

And then! I saw Book of Mormon. I got second row seat super cheap ($75?) because they were marked obstructed. But! They were not!

20150518-211712.jpg

What it was, was close enough to make eye contact with the actors, though. Multiple times.

The show was hilarious and awesome and had more heart than I was expecting. The Elder Price understudy was super awesome, very much like Andrew Rannells in looks and style, so that was fun.

I went through Anthropologie, looking to use my 15% off birthday code, but there was nothing. I was so disappointed. This hasn’t been my year with them – it’s been ages since they had things in my style. 😦 Everything is very boxy and flowy, and that’s just a terrible look for me.

So I stopped at Old Navy and found this:

20150518-211729.jpg

 

It was only sale, $20, so I went for it. I like it, but it doesn’t work as well with my strapless bra as I thought, boo. I’ll figure something out.

Also, as promised, Downton Labbey:

 

20150518-211717.jpg

Hee!

5 thoughts on “15 and 18 May 2015: Birthday Fun

  1. LOL – Downton labby! That’s clever.
    Since you mentioned thst you were cluttered a bit – you should read Marie Kondo’s Life Magic Something Something of Tidying Up book. It’s a quirky book by a quirky Japanese gal who apparently is quite the organizing & decluttering guru of her country. If you can get past some of the weird Japan-specific suggestions, and instead find a suitable subsititute for something more “western” – it makes a lot of sense then & is quite applicable. I’m a minimalist to begin with, but after applying her suggestions the “konmari” way & keeping only stuff that “sparks joy”, geez – I was finally able to part with old photo’s, childhood stuff, etc (took a bunch of photo’s of the stuff & scanned all the photo’s). So relieved to finally have all that stuff off shoulders & outta my home!

    Like

    • There’s apparently a whole slew of Lab merch you can get, and I fully approve of this! And that does sound like an immensely helpful book – I’ve heard the only keep things that spark joy idea and wondered where it came from. I admit that I am a packrat (saved only from hoarder tendencies by my need for everything to have a place and unable to deal with piles or anything on the floor) and that I could definitely part with more things than I do.

      Like

  2. i think your outfits are great. have you considered a pair of red Keds? or, perhaps, some of the really pretty seasonal patterns that are available from Keds.com. you wear them so well, i thought you might want to venture a little further with your look.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Dear Librarian, I enjoyed scanning your blog, it’s nice to see retro photography. I admit I know nothing about style, but I think it’s adorable you wear Keds with everything 🙂 . A beautiful, artistic librarian in Keds is pretty much the dream! Anyway, I look forward to reading more. Chow.

    Liked by 1 person

What do you think?

