19, 21-24 September 2015: Augh, Late

Augh! How has it been two weeks? Last week was super weird, as it was my very dear friend/assistant manager’s last week before moving several hours away, so I was pretty distracted. I hope to get better at keeping current soon.

20150924-115304.jpg

Dumbledore’s Army tee, Old Navy Flirt capris, Tardis necklace, Tardis bracelet, Converse

September 19th: Hermione Granger’s birthday and the premiere of Doctor Who! It was also Talk Like a Pirate Day, my one chance to wear the pirate tee I got from a TeeFury grab bag, but since I went in to work to help at Hermione’s birthday, I clearly needed to be part of the DA. The party was marvelous, filled with nerdy adults and kids. I helped everyone make pins and finger knit scarves for the House Elves.

And the Doctor Who premiere was solid. I adore Twelve, and his electric guitar riff of Pretty Woman made my night. I ❤ you, Peter Capaldi. Never leave.

20150924-115312.jpg

Anthropologie cardigan, Old Navy Sweetheart Skinnies, arrow necklace, Avengers charm bracelet, Aerosole sandals

It finally cooled down enough to wear my new cardi!!!! Only it didn’t really and I was warm. Oops, jumped the gun. But I do love it very much. So rare to find a fitted cardi that buttons over my chest!

Also, I am so relieved these jeans fit again. They are on the small side of a 4, unlike my capris and my last pair of these, which is very frustrating. I would like to get a better, truer sized pair, but I am also saving money for NYC, so, ugh. But unlike this spring, they fit comfortably again, alleluia. I had been more than a little nervous about cooler weather returning. We’ll see how it goes this winter when I can’t be out jogging anymore.

20150924-115317.jpg

anthropologie sailor knot dress, H&M cardigan, Avengers charm bracelet, flipflops

These were not the shoes I wore most of the day – I had on my Aerosole wedges seen above, but the STRAPS BROKE OFF THE SIDE. My coworker leant me these to walk home and I dropped my sandals off at the cobbler. They are now fixed, yay!!!

I love the idea of this dress, my very first anthro item, but it’s hard. The top is too big and it’s racerback-y, so I can only really wear it covered up. I love how this came out, though, so I am torn on keeping it or not. Because it can work, clearly, and I love the tie so hard. But it’s just not easy to wear/style.
20150924-115323.jpg

Anthropologie Novelty Collar tee, Old Navy Flirt capris, H&M cardigan, Avengers charm bracelet, Clarks

Keeping with the anthr theme, basically. And God, I love these shoes.
20150924-115329.jpg

Gap tank, Old Navy Flirt capris, ANA tie cardigan, Mickey necklace, Hawkeye bracelet, Converse

Aforementioned friend/AM’s going away party for staff was a Just Dance party with candy and Mountain Dew slushies. Clearly, I had to dress to dance. It was a ton of fun. Sniffle. Sigh.

20150924-115405.jpg

As a going away gift, I sewed together a disappearing nine patch coaster for her new office. And, clearly did not upload the finished product? Hmm, odd. I’ll fix that later. It came out uneven, but cute. And now I know that disappearing ninepatchs really need at least three different fabrics, not two. (It was just a regular nine patch, alternating the dark and light oranges in a checkerboard, which I cut into quarters and turned around to make a more complicated looking pattern.)

I’ve definitely been bitten by the quilting bug again. I bought some fabric for Christmas gifts and sewed my brother a reversible patriotic/flag placemat. Hurrah for cool weather projects!

One thought on “19, 21-24 September 2015: Augh, Late

  1. You should read Marie Kondo’s Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up. She really goes into detail about decluttering / organizing (what she calls ‘tidying’) & the first task is to go thru your closet & clothing & decide just what ‘sparks joy’ & what doesn’t. This method certainly helps cull a wardrobe that might have some duds in it. I ended up parring down a bunch of stuff that was just so-so on me & didn’t spark joy. Waaay better method of deciding what should stay or go in your closet. I finally let go of stuff that I had been trying to make work, but never could quite get it right by using her tidying method. Highly recommend!
    I should mention though. She’s Japanese & a lot of her recommendations lean more to a eastern culture, and some of it is even downright quirky weird, but if you adapt it to the western world – it works like a champ!

    Like

What do you think?

